Historic Landmarks and Districts

The City of Peoria has 6 local historic districts, 5 national historic districts, and 24 local historic landmarks. 
For more information on Peoria's history, check out the Peoria Public Library Local History and Genealogy Department and Bradley University's Virginius H. Chase Special Collections Center.

Historic Districts

Wondering if you live in a historic district, or just curious? View our Historic District Map. 

National Historic Districts

Downtown Peoria National Historic District
Grand View Drive National Historic District
Northside National Historic District
Warehouse National Historic District
West Bluff National Historic District

Local Historic Districts

Flora-Ellis Historic District
Glen Oak Historic District
Knoxville Avenue Historic District
Moss-High Historic District
Perry Avenue Historic District
Randolph-Roanoke Historic District

Historic Landmarks

A home, building, monument, and even a street can be designated as a historic landmark. Landmarks can be designated at the local or national level. This is a very important tool in preserving Peoria's history.  Learn about our local landmarks in the tabs on the left side of the page (or below for mobile users). 

Designate a Landmark

Historic landmarks are approved by the Historic Preservation Commission. Visit the Historic Preservation Commission page to learn more and submit an application for a new historic landmark.